Welcome to New Sounds Downtown

"Boundless Music for Boundless Minds"


  New Sounds Downtown
was founded in 2003 by composer/percussionist Curtis Glatter as means to present local, national and international artists in different settings - from original groups to solo and ad hoc performances. Each season consists of four concerts spanning from October to April. The series was curated over the years by Nathan Hubbard and Glatter/Hubbard. Currently the series is inactive.
For the six years NSDT was running, it featured Adam Rudolph, Al Scholl, Burnett Anderson, Christopher Adler, Curtis Glatter, Derric Oliver, DJ Tenshun, Ellen Weller, Emily Hay, Farhad Bahrami, James Burton, Jason Robinson, Jim McAuley, Joe Bigham, Joscha Oetz, Juan Sanchez, Justin Grinnell, Marcelo Radulovich, Marcos Fernandes, Mark Dresser, Mark Weaver, Michael Dessen, Nate Atwood, Nathan Hubbard, Richard Steiger, Robert Montoya, Sarah Paik, Scott Walton, Steve Vertigan, Sunshine Vogt, Thollem McDonas, Toni Pope and Tracy McMullen.
In addition to numerous solo, duo and ad-hoc ensembles, NSDT has also presented the following ensembles - Bug On A Leaf, The Builders Association of Encinitas, Dornob, Colter Frazier/Rob Wallace Duo, Nathan Hubbard Trio, The Invisible 3, Glatter/Hubbard, Obscuricon, Something Strange Is Afoot, Trio Magreb, Troikastra, Wormhole, Skeleton Key Percussion Ensemble and Ensemble Pacifique.
  New Sounds Downtown
Curtis Glatter - founder, co-curator
Nathan Hubbard - artistic director, co-curator
contact - nsdt (at) castorandpolluxmusic (dot) com
all works copyright 2003-2009 the artists
join the new sound community - new sounds downtown yahoo group

click here to see the 2008-2009 season
click here to see the 2007-2008
click here to see the 2006-2007 season
click here to see the 2005-2006 season
click here to see the 2004-2005 season
click here to see the 2003-2004 season